Davido Releases Album – A Better Time By Aanu Oluyide


Award winning singer and DMW’s boss, Davido has finally released the much anticipated album “A Better Time” on November 13th, 2020. The album is a sequel to his second studio album released in 2019 titled “A Good Time”.  Usually “better” should come after good, this is the aim of Davido himself when crafting this album and it is glaring that he put a lot of work into it. Does not make it a good or better album as this is not a review.

With an album cover that features his son with his Fiancée “Chioma”, Davido definitely wanted to prove that he has actually gotten better not only at music, but at other facets of his life. Ifeanyi’s picture on the album cover sends a good message, and Infact passed the message rightly. Looking at it would send thrills down the spine of baby lovers. The innocence, the purity. Recall that A Better Time album was to to be released in July this year, before the Corona Virus surge and the need to postpone it arose, making the album to be postponed till November 2020.

A Better time is an Album of 17 tracks. It is Davido’s third studio album and body of work. The album strings together sounds from different artistes, and explored more of what Davido usually would explore. It featured African Artistes from Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa and Ghana. It also featured artistes from the United States. From Nigeria multi talented Mayokun, the beautiful Songwriter Perruzzi who are artistes under DMW have their imprints on the album. Mayokun has two features. With two features on his Boss album, Mayokun may be the face of Davido Music World (DMW). Davido seem to be more closer with Mayokun and Peruzzi, as Perruzzi is said to write most of his songs. Mayokun was also reported to write some. In short, Davido doesn’t write his songs, but he delivers them and makes them into hits. There’s nothing wrong in buying songs by the way, the delivery matters the most.

 Fem, which is the lead single of the song was a hit breaker. Davido is mostly particular about rocking parties and breaking hits. Sometimes he’ll need to have a shift away from that anyways.

Track List



Something Fishy

Holy Ground Ft Nicki Minaj


Very Special

The Best Ft Mayorkun

Shopping Spree Ft Chris Brown


Tanana Ft Tiwa Savage


La La Ft Ckay

So Crazy Ft Lil Baby

Birthday Cake Ft Nas, Hit-Boy

I Got A Friend Ft Mayokun, Sho Madjozi

Fade Ft Bella Shmurda

On My Way Ft Sauti Sol

Album Features

Tiwa Savage, Mayokun, Chris Brown, Nas, Lil baby, Hit boy, Sauti Sol, Bella Shmurda, Ckay, MUGEEZ, Nikki Minaj, Sho Madjozi are faces on the album. The Kenyan Band Sauti Sol seem to be having a nice time being explored by Nigerian artistes. Recall that Burnaboy also featured them on his Twice As Tall Album with the song “Time Flies”. With these features, much is expected of this album the same way much was for Wizkid’s Made In Lagos album to the disappointment of many.

As expected, hype from different angles is ongoing on social media platforms regarding the album. On twitter, on Instagram, fans have been on different trips since the album was released.  Davido is a good A&R himself, and he works well with beautiful PR to push his works rightly. This is not an outright album review, wait for the review, but, trust that the album will be pushed to top charts. Davido does that best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 4 = 1